Disney’s Hilton Head Island Resort September 2023 Day 6

We have another beautiful day here on Hilton Head Island. It’s NFL football Sunday and we have been trying to decide where we want to watch the one NY game, Jets. There are lots of choices and football is big here.

We began with breakfast and Roy is done with his cheerios and shower in record time again. I am slower and giving things more thought. I decided to give myself a taste of the past since we were with college friends yesterday. Sometimes I would go to the grill in my dorm to get a toasted bagel which wasn’t actually toasted since they had no toaster. They would butter and grill the cut bagel. I put a half cut bagel in the frying pan with my usual eggs to recreate that taste. This picture is before I flipped the eggs so don’t freak out when you see the spinach. it all cooks nicely. Gord and Trudi went for bagels in Sag Harbor this morning.

Each bar/restaurant caters to different fans. The place we ate yesterday is a Chicago base. Giuseppe’s is Pittsburgh and so on. We don’t really care about finding Jets fans because Roy is all about the Giants and they are done this week.

Roy is sitting at the table reading his Ipad. He misses his computer at home and his Costco hotdogs. He is a creature of habit.

Roy decided to have some porch time while I do laundry and get ready to go out.

We walked over to the front desk/lobby area and saw some familiar cast members along the way. This resort is know for having the best cast members in the whole Disney system. While over there we had our picture taken because the photo machine is now in the Beach House and we’re not going there right now.

I don’t particularly like this picture of me but Mickey is so short we couldn’t just get the top of our bodies.

I do love the picture that Gord sent of him and Marty picking apples. It’s good to know that we didn’t get a terribly destructive storm at home.

They sure do look like they are having fun!

This is the cutest picture and better than looking at us old folks.

We have eaten at Hudson’s and Skullcreek Boathouse several times and love them both. Today we thought we might try Skullcreek Dockside. We plan to drive down Squire Pope Rd. and see where we end up.

We went to Skullcreek Dockside for the first time and it was so good it instantly became a favorite restaurant. I must thank my Disney Friend Sue because she has told me for years how good this place is. Finally we tried it and Thank You Sue! We had the best lunch. Roy had the fried flounder sandwich and I had mine seared with a cup of broccoli cheddar soup. Yummy!

It left us wanting some thing sweet again though and I knew there was the Dillon Rd McDonald’s on our way home. We stopped for cones again. Very soon I will be totally proficient in the self service ordering system.

It got very hot again today. It was 88 on the car thermometer on the way home. We thought we were going home to watch football but that was not to be.

The Direct TV which is offered at the Disney resort is horrendous. The Jets football game is supposed to be on CBS but CBS sports is showing Rodeo. So far this afternoon I have seen volleyball, lacrosse, and all sorts of sports I don’t want to watch. There is one football game on Fox and a NFL station with running commentary of all scores playing music in the background. When I saw CBS I thought we’d be good. I do see that the Jets are losing. In all sports the teams we follow are losers. My hopes are high on hockey.

My original plan of bringing in food to watch a day of football games didn’t happen either. I am glad we had that excellent lunch at Skullcreek Dockside.earlier.

We’re thinking about a small dinner and what we can pickup. Then we went out to stop at the places we had planned and they were closed. Some restaurants are not open Sunday here. When we saw Fat Baby’s was closed I knew we were close to The Smokehouse. I had good chicken there last year and wanted to try the ribs. Bullies Barbecue was also closed too and Mike said on the tour there was a new owner and it wasn’t as good. So we went to Smokehouse. Roy doesn’t eat barbecue.

Roy said he’s get plain wings, not realizing that without sauce they are tasteless. He had a few choice words for the wings not fit to print. I warned him. He might have been thinking of wings I make at home but they are seasoned.

I got a really good dinner and I have lots left over. This is the 1/4 chicken, 4 babyback ribs and 2 sides. I picked green bean casserole and baked sweet potato. I offered to make one corn on the cob for him but he said no.

After dinner he said this was the reverse of most of our Costco lunches where I am watching him eat his hotdog. It is better at Costco since I have been packing lunch to eat there while I sit with him. It’s my Costco picnic.

Hopefully there will be some meals that will please him. I know he loved our lunch today. We shall see…….

Leave a comment