Disney’s Hilton Head Island Resort September 2023 Day 8

This morning the air is thick with humidity and Roy says it’s supposed to rain. In fact the weather is changing and we probably waited too long to use the pools. We will find other things to do if this is the case.

Roy has nothing he wants to do today. We are skipping all our usual things, Coligny, Shelter Cove, Tanger Outlets etc. We didn’t even go to Belk. We didn’t go inside one store.

He’s running out of milk but refuses to buy an extra quart. His delight is cookies and jelly donuts but will not get anything because they require milk to drink with them. If anyone knows a more stubborn person, I challenge you now to prove it.

Don’t be fooled that it is cool here because Roy is wearing a jacket. It is steamy warm and humid. It may rain and he wanted to be prepared if it does.

I wanted a couple of bagels because I need one at least to take home with me and have the morning of the flight. I know there are lots of places to have breakfast of all kinds close to the resort and people love the Hilton Head Social Bakery but that’s not for us. I don’t eat sweets in the morning and Roy has a bowl of cheerios. Apparently lots of other people like this bagel shop because it’s been busy every time I’ve gone there. They do a brisk business making breakfasts with inside and outside seating plus lots of carry out orders.

We went to the bagel store and came home. Housekeeping is here taking away the trash and giving us clean towels.

Before we went out again I called maintenance because our thermostat went out during the power failure yesterday. I was going to change the temperature last night and I saw the screen was blank. We also had a lightbulb out in one bathroom. There was a man here about 3 minutes after my call.

He thought we had no AC but I said I told the person on the phone the thermostat needed to be reprogrammed, that is all.

We left for lunch minus the rain coat and it was lightly raining of course. It didn’t matter to us. We drove down to Sea Shack and had a great lunch.

Roy reconsidered the need for an extra quart of milk because I suggested getting some different dessert. One last trip to Kroger’s did it.

We bought a couple things from the 2 for $3 table and he poured himself a big glass of milk.

Today can now be officially classified as a rainy day. We’ve been inside doing normal things like at home. Roy’s watching tv and I have a great new book to review plus we both napped. It’s funny that we thought this would be our pool day. After all those sunny near 90 degree days our second to last day is cooler with rain. It isn’t easy to take a picture of rain but I tried.

The birds do like the rain.

I am not so fond of rain.

The weather made me want soup but actually I almost always want soup. I asked Roy to drive to Giuseppe’s so I could get my favorite Italian Wedding Soup.

I know Linda Cammerer will see the Captain’s Wafers they gave me! We can never find them in stores.

We had a crazy mixed up leftover dinner.

It’s a quiet night in our little home away from home. We miss our tv stations and we miss our own bed. Roy keeps saying it’s time to go home and get a Costco hot dog. At least I got a little break from it.

Leave a comment