Disney’s Hilton Head Island Resort September 2023 Day 7

We have another beautiful Hilton Head morning. After all the usual things like breakfast, Roy took his shower and I was going next. Only one bathroom has a shower stall. At this point it’s risky to step over a tub side to get into so I wait my turn.

At the point where I was ready, about 7:45 am, the power went out! At home it wouldn’t scare me and I didn’t let it bother me too much here either. I called the front desk and the whole resort was out but I was sure they would fix it quickly. After Super Storm Sandy I can cope with most anything except I don’t have my lanterns here. I do have 2 small but powerful flashlights that I used to carry in my pocket during the long 9 day power outage during Sandy. I turned on my trusty flashlights and took a shower. When I was drying off the power was restored.

There is one child on the playground with a dad.

I wasn’t going to let anything spoil today because it’s a special one for me. One of the nicest things about Facebook is connecting with old friends. That has happened for me. A high school friend who lives here saw I was here visiting and we are going to see each other today! If anyone from Walnut Hills High School in Cincinnati, Ohio is reading this I am having lunch with Ann Jennings Petrie and I’m looking forward to this very much!

We took a walk around the resort because we have plenty of time before leaving for lunch.

Next we walked over to the Live Oak Lodge, the one elevator building we wish we were staying in.

Inside the lobby today they had a Keurig! They had both regular and decaf coffee pods so I was able to get a decaf instead of that strong brewed coffee I had another day.

Sandy at the front desk told us that lots of people came for coffee earlier because of the power failure. She also told us that the power failure was Island wide. Wow, I wonder what caused that?

We continued on back to the pool which is one building from the recreation area. Nobody was there yet at 10 am and it’s warm already.

The pool will be a fun place soon with music and games. At recreation people were renting bikes. This is such a different type of vacation than Disney World.

Oh what a day we’re having! This is the happy reunion with my high school Friend, Ann Jennings Petrie. We had lunch at Frankie Bones. It was amazing to see Ann again and I didn’t think she looked much different. I’d know here anywhere!

We had a wonderful time catching up despite Roy’s dumb jokes and that I think she aged far better than I did. I look olderbut we’re both still short. The whole experience was fun. I never run into old friends like Roy does since he never moved. He’s in the same house with the same phone number so people do find him.

Luncch was great too and it was our first time at Frankie Bones. We all got the lunch special with the 2 choices, half sandwich and a side.

chicken noodle soup with half chicen

Roy had french dip and fries.

When we got back to the resort I saw 2 of my very favorite cast members.

To the left is Tina who tried so hard to make us comfortable our first difficult day. To the right is Kryztina, always ready to make us happy and be a great friend.

Back in the villa and on the porch there were some birds feeding out in the marsh.

I think most of the smaller white birds had long beaks and were Ibis. There were also a few great white egrets. I have to zoom the camera to get them.

After a little rest Roy said he wanted Fat Baby’s pizza again. We had lots of leftovers from yesterday and today but much of it will not be eaten.

We brought home 2 slices from Fat Baby’s but they were not as good as the first time.

It was a very hot day again, probably 90 or so. We might got to the pool tomorrow before it gets that hot.

This was a very good day!

Leave a comment