Disney’s Hilton Head Island Resort September 2023 Day 1 & 2

We began our day too early because JetBlue has only one flight a day from JFK now. Johnny Z picked us up at 5 am or before. Thanks John for being early and such a big help!

We saw the sunrise from our window at the gate.

I was excited to get going but Roy was extra tired. All went well at the airport because Curbside check in isn’t too crowded at 5:30 am and that is such a big help. We also have TSA precheck so that is a plus too.

There is a bottle filler near the gate so I didn’t have to buy the expensive water at the airport.

We got our rental car from Enterprise and we were so much happier with them than Budget. We had reserved a premium car. You get your best deal on Costco Travel. Unfortunately they didn’t have any Cadillacs or similar. We were offered a Jeep Grand Cherokee that many would be happy with but Roy is not going to drive a high car. Most people drive High cars these days, it’s basically all we were offered in Florida too.

The best they could find is a Toyota Camry and took money off our cost. We were very happy with that.

We drove to the resort without any problems but the problem there was our building request had not been honored. We were in Building 22. They are short accommodations due to ongoing renovations. We tried unsuccessfully to find Building 22 four times. Cast Member Tina came to our rescue. She told us to get our shopping done at Kroger’s and she would arrange for help getting that and our luggage over to the building. She rode with us in our car so we finally found where to park and how to find the building. You have to put your things into a wooden cart and wheel it over to where you’re staying.

By this time we were tired and hungry so it was our pleasure to have our first Hilton Head Meal at The Sea Shack.

We were so tired from the travel, trying to find our room and grocery shopping that we did rest at this point. I couldn’t get into the bed though because it is too high. Roy tried in vain to help me and even turned a small garbage can upside down but I said we had to get a step stool. We finally dragged ourselves out to Walmart and easily found a perfect solution.

Last night we each got a slice of pizza to bring home from Fat Baby’s Pizza. This is our favorite pizza place, thin crust and delicious. Slices are large, only 6 per pie,

Roy had a Blue Bunny cone on the porch.

This morning, to start the second day we saw the sun rise.

After breakfast and showers we went to Kroger’s for water and Roy’s thin Oreos. He had said No to both yesterday.

One side of the resort borders the Shelter Cove Marina.

Roy unloaded the water into the wooden wagon to transport to our villa.

He was not in a good mood and overtired. Lunch today was Harold’s Diner. Part of the local color, Harold is famous for being a grouch. It was very strange that Harold said we didn’t pay. Apparently that was someone else’s check he was holding up. Roy was holding the money to pay while he was eating. The first time we went, years ago, Roy made the big mistake of wearing a NY Yankees shirt. Harold is a Boston Red Sox fan. We probably will not go back there.

I liked my lunch better than Roy liked his but I forgot to take a picture of either one. Roy had a hamburger and fries and I had the grouper sandwich with fries. The fries were ultra skinny and I thought very tasty but Roy, still in that bad mood, said no.

My Ipad charger wire broke and one also broke at home. I guess they just didn’t hold up. First we went to the A T & T store but they were $30. Kroger’s had them for much less and the lady at Customer Service was very knowledgeable.. A great experience again at Kroger’s.

We were back in the villa again and I hear the happy squeals of kids on the playground from my porch. It makes me think of Trudi and Marty.

The resort has loaned me binoculars to use while here but there have been almost no birds in the usual places. I wonder where they are.

We walked over to the Mercantile Store and only bought a postcard. I also took a picture of the pool by recreation.

We made reservations for a South End tour with Mike The Pool Guy for Friday. We have already done one but it’s different each time. After this we went to the front desk to mail the postcard.

Roy is now our planner since he didn’t like the job I was doing. He wanted a sandwich so back to Kroger’s we went. I think we’ve sent a record already for Kroger trips.

Since I don’t care for roast beef sandwiches I looked for an alternative for myself. I saw the rotisserie chickens were all reduced.

Apparently after 5:00 they mark them down. I couldn’t resist th bargain. I also got vegetables for myself and an apple for dessert.

We’re in for the night. We now have something planned for Thursday, Friday and Saturday.

Leave a comment